top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The pride of Catalonia

Many apartments or homes in the area proudly display the flag of Catalonia. A beautiful blue and yellow creation represents the regional pride these people feel and how they standout from the rest of Spain. This is also where I will study, play and eat for the next five weeks. It has been off to a good start.

Upon arrival we were immediately whisked off to meet our host family. Vanessa, my friend from home and roommate in Spain (see below), were anxious to see our new home. Both of us know enough Spanish to get by, but let's just say we weren't going to be discussing our personal manifestos. We could not have been more pleasantly surprised to arrive at the Santos home. A quaint, one floor apartment on a beautiful, yet bustling side-street. Nights at the Santos' would mean large family dinner, laughter surrounding the living area and a picturesque view from the back patio. It would also mean no air-conditioning (this is hardly a thing in Barcelona), one shared bathroom and a rowdy dalmatian-mix Lua. I have learned many things already. First, bigger is not always better. Second, I am spoiled and finally, family is a universal thing and love and respect are it's universal languages. Needless to say, things our going swimmingly with the family and we could not be more thankful. Berta, Claudía and Alba, their three daughters join us for dinner, help us get around and tell us the cool, "non-tourists" things to do. We are also helping Berta better her English. Claudía, who is very close to our age, is dying to visit Austin and we are dying to take her to 6th street. Diego, the father is a simple, humorous who is the head of the household. Next to him stands Paqui or mom in Spain. Who despite speaking zero English brings so much comfort and warmth to my day.

I have also learned that the coffee is way stronger here, but the people are much more relaxed. Siestas are a daily staple, being a few minutes late to class is hardly noticed and staying out until the sun comes up is the norm. I think I could get used to this.

I try my best everyday to speak as much Spanish as possible and to pick up on the social and cultural expectations. I like this place because they have respect for customs and have a rich way of life.

Now, what have I been up to the last week? You will have to see it to believe it.

The beach at Barceloneta is almost apart of the daily routine since the sun doesn't go down until around 10. Sangria, tapas and paying for your water also accompany my rituals. Our group of about 50 students in the study abroad program hang out, and we also enjoy meeting locals and other student studying abroad. I had my first experience at Opium, the discoteca, which was quite enjoyable. But my favorite part has been learning my way around the city (got lost there for a second), discovering new places, and absorbing the culture.

On Tuesday night, the ENTIRE, and I mean entire city celebrated São João. This is basically the summer solstice, you send away all the bad things and welcome in the new. This holiday (yes we didn't have school or work the next day), reminds me of the 4th of July....fireworks, bonfires and groups of friends and family gathering. People stay out all night on the beach and sleep the whole next day. It was so wonderful to be able to take part in this tradition.

In case you forgot, I almost did, I am taking classes here as well. My documentary film class is right up my alley. The professor Ricardo, is Quentin Tarantino-esque and a true documentarian....he had a film at Sundance !!!! (omg). There are students from Barcelona is our classes and they are a huge help. I love to ask them questions about their home and then share with them comparisons to mine.

So far I have learned to ride the metro and tram, how to aviod pick-pocketers and how to fall in love with a new city.

Until next time,

Codes


  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
bottom of page