top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Adieu

Today is my last day in Europe and I am not really sure how I feel. I am so anxious and ready to get back home. I am so excited to be back on a schedule and to not be moving from place to place. I also miss my friends and family so much. I guess I can consider myself pretty lucky to have such wonderful people (and doggies) waiting for me when I get back. On the other hand I relish the time I have spent abroad. It has taught me so much and helped grow in ways I did not even realize I needed. I am going into my final year of college or my last year of freedom as I like to refer to it and there was a lot of maturing I needed to do. Europe, this summer and these memories will stay with me for many different reasons.

Mom and I fly out tomorrow around 7 a.m. and we have long travel day ahead of us.

We have had a wonderful time in Rome and boy is it hot. I cannot even begin to describe this city. It is so historical. The roads are solely cobblestone and bulidings dating back thousands of years fill the city. It truly is wonderous.

On the 7th we went and toured the Colosseum and Palatine Hill. You really got a feel for what it would have been like watching the games and seeing Gladiators back in Ancient Romes. All of the tour guides knew so much about ancient history and there were so many emperors, popes and battles to keep straight. We continued to eat pizza, pasta and bread and have almost grown sick of it....key word almost!

My favorite day spent in Rome was our visit to the Vatican and St. Peters' Basilica. The Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilicia were astonishing. I still cannot wrap my brain around the idea that someone hand painted and constructed them. We got to skip all of the lines and truly soak in all of the beauty and age around us. We also visited three other famous Basilicas in Rome and even saw the steps Jesus walked up during the Passion. Rome is a city filled with culture, history and romance around every corner. We were so intrigued by all of the folklore that we had to come back to the hotel and watch The Davinci Code.

Mom and I spent our final day in Rome at our own leisure. We did a lot of walking and a little more sightseeing. We had coffee in a quaint alleyway and talked about how great our experience has been. I will cherish the time spent with my mom.

I worry that I do no have the words to express what this journey has been for me. I do not think I realzied how much soul-searching I needed to do, but I do know that I am coming back from this a little different. Better or worse? I'll let you guys be the judge. Can't wait to see everyone!

XoXo,

Codes

Mom and I at the Vittoria Emmanuel Monument

The Colosseum

St. Peter's Basilica

St. Peter's Basilica


  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
bottom of page